Is CBD Oil Gluten-Free?

Gluten-Free CBD Products
Gluten-Free CBD Products
Gluten-Free CBD Products
Gluten-Free CBD Products

The CBD has gained huge popularity over the past few years and many people are still questioning whether CBD is gluten-free. People are buying a wide range of CBD products for the treatment of several health disorders that affect the human body. One of the main things that people consider while choosing a particular CBD product is whether the product is gluten-free or not.

The main reason for choosing gluten-free CBD products is for avoiding the risk of developing celiac disease. It is an autoimmune disease that occurs when the gluten attacks our immune system. Around 3 million people in the United States are suffering from celiac disease, gluten sensitivities, and intolerances, etc. There is no natural gluten in hemp plants but it doesn’t mean that CBD products are free of gluten. Keep on reading the article to find out what is gluten and whether the CBD oil is gluten-free.

What Is Gluten?

In layman terms, gluten hails from a family of proteins. Gluten is mainly present in cereal grains such as barley, rye, wheat, semolina, and farro. Since gluten is present in these cereals, it is also found in their derivative like triticale, spelt, malt, and durum. This means that gluten is present in a wide range of foods and drinks we consume. Some of these foods and drinks include cakes, bread, and other baked goods.

Gluten is also found in several processed food and some beers and soy sauce. It is extremely important to lead a gluten-free lifestyle because it can cause an autoimmune response in people with celiac disease. It will also cause some negative symptoms in people with gluten intolerance or gluten sensitivity. Gluten is not only present in edible products but also in certain body lotions and shampoos. Gluten is one of the main ingredients in those topical products.

Digestive issues like diarrhea, skin problems like eczema, rash, neurological issues, weight loss, anemia, headaches, and osteoporosis, etc. are some of the symptoms associated with gluten intolerance. If you suspect that you have a gluten intolerance, you should consult a doctor first before eliminating gluten from your diet.

Is Hemp Plants Gluten-Free?

Gluten does not occur naturally in the hemp plants. However, the CBD oil extracted from the hemp plants may contain gluten. The hemp plants are a member of the cannabis family and it is also a grain-like crop. Most often, the hemp is cultivated in rotation with other crops such as wheat, rye, and barley, etc. which contains gluten. Therefore, there is a slight chance of gluten to get introduced in the hemp plants during the cultivation process.

The hemp will undergo processing after harvesting to cross-examine the gluten content present in the plants. If the processing is not done properly and done in an unsanitary environment; the CBD oil extracted from the hemp will contain gluten. Therefore, ensure that the CBD products you buy are certified as gluten-fee. It is found that almost all the CBD products that are sourced from organic hemp plants are gluten-free.

It is important to note that the CBD products that are gluten-free are not all pure. They may contain flavors, scents, additives, and colorings, etc. Most of the reputable CBD companies only provide gluten-free CBD products to their customers. It is found that CBD edibles and CBD-infused drinks are more likely to be contaminated with gluten.

The main reason for CBD edibles getting contaminated with gluten is the less-clean processing centers and the extensive ingredients present in the products. The same goes for the case of CBD-infused drinks. Some of the additives and ingredients in CBD-infused drinks may contain gluten. Therefore, it is better to consume other forms of CBD products that are less likely to contain gluten.

CBD Products That Are Gluten-Free

CBD pills, CBD isolates, CBD tinctures, and CBD topicals are the CBD products that are less likely to be contaminated with gluten. CBD isolate only contains CBD and comes in a powder form. CBD pills are filled with pure CBD oil or powder, which reduces the chance of gluten contamination. Sublingual CBD drops do not contain any additives that mean they might be gluten-free. Basically, glutens never get absorbed through your skin. Therefore, using topical CBD products do not cause any problem.

It is better to stay on the safe side and avoid any chance of getting gluten into your body. Always read the label of the CBD product and check the list of ingredients to make sure that the product is gluten-free before you use it. Make sure to buy CBD products of reputable CBD companies as they only sell high quality CBD products.

If you find the terms Hordeum vulgare, Triticum Vulgare, and Tocopherol acetate on the list of ingredients, it is better to stay away from those CBD products because these ingredients may contain gluten. When you decide to buy a CBD product, do some internet searches to find which CBD products are gluten-free.

Leave a Reply