Veganism And CBD

Veganism And CBD
Veganism And CBD
Veganism And CBD
Veganism And CBD

Veganism is a way of life that is based on avoiding all forms of animal products. Vegans follow a diet that is entirely based on plant foods and use no lifestyle products derived from animals. Once you decide to embrace veganism, you will have to do some research about the foods and lifestyle products that go well with your choice.

CBD is a therapeutic cannabinoid derived from cannabis plants. Are all CBD products vegan? Read on for the answers.

What Is CBD?

CBD is one of the hundreds of compounds in cannabis. If you were to consider the compound alone, there is no doubt it is vegan. However, things are different when it comes to CBD-infused products as they contain many other ingredients.

CBD Products And Veganism

The ingredients that go into the making of a CBD product decide whether it is vegan-friendly or not. Shared below is a list of popular CBD products.

CBD Oil

CBD oil is very popular and is made by infusing CBD extract in a carrier oil like hemp seed oil, MCT oil, etc.

CBD oil brands mostly prefer using CBD extract and carrier oil as the only ingredients in their products. This helps preserve the potency of the oil. The addition of colors and flavors reduces the potency of CBD oil.

CBD Gummies

CBD gummies are a much sought-after option in the CBD edibles category. Traditionally gummies are made with gelatin, an ingredient derived from the tendons and bones of dead cattle and pigs. Needless to say, gelatin is a non-vegan ingredient, which means CBD gummies made using gelatin are non-vegan.

 To make vegan-friendly CBD gummies, brands use suitable vegan alternatives to gelatin. Agar-agar and carrageenan are some examples.

The CBD edibles option is quite large. You have many options like CBD brownies, cookies, chocolate, and more.

CBD Tinctures

 CBD tinctures are similar to CBD oils in terms of usage. However, their base is made of alcohol, unlike CBD oils.

CBD tinctures mostly come with added flavors that mask the raw taste of CBD. If the flavors and other non-CBD ingredients used in the tincture are vegan-friendly, vegans can confidently take the tincture.

When you buy CBD products, study the list of ingredients to ensure that there aren’t any non-vegan ingredients in the product. Also, look for the vegan certification on the label. If you are making CBD edibles at home, ensuring their vegan status will be much more easier.

Leave a Reply